6 September, 2019

Guaranteed show for the men’s QS/10,000 final of the ABANCA Galicia Classic Surf Pro

  • The beach of Pantín (Valdoviño, Ferrolterra, province of A Coruña), will host this Saturday (September 7), between approximately 5:00 and 6:00 p.m., the test for the title.
  • First, the quarter-final and semifinal rounds of the men’s competition will be played. The event closes with the music of ‘Pantín Soundwave Son’.

Guaranteed show that can be seen this Saturday (September 7) at the beach of Pantín (Valdoviño, Ferrolterra, province of A Coruña), with the dispute of the final of the men’s QS / 10,000 of the ABANCA Galicia Classic Surf Pro. The organization of the Galician event, included in the World Surf League circuit, provides that the start time is from approximately 5:00 p.m.

Before, from 01:00 p.m., the tests corresponding to the quarter-finals will be played, which have the following matches: Jadson Andre (29th Championship Tour (CT), Brazil) – Matt Banting (7th QS, Australia); Jake Marshall (United States) Caleb Tancred (Australia); Matthew McGillivray (South Africa) – Morgan Cibilic (Australia) and Miguel Pupo (23rd QS) – Nomme Mignot (France).

Miguel Pupo (BRA) /  WSL – Masurel

The round of sixteen

During the round of sixteen, Brazilian Jadson Andre opened the round of sixteen with a remarkable performance against Frenchman Timothee Bisso, achieving his pass to the quarter-finals, with the ‘Best-Accumulated Score in a Test’ of the competition (17.33 points) and making a wave of 9.33 points, the second-best in the championship to date.

For his part, the Australian Matt Banting was able to eliminate the 28th classified of the CT, the Brazilian Jesse Mendes, completing a very regular test with two waves 8.33 and 8.00 points (16.33 points in the total).

The American Jake Marshall got into quarter-finals, after winning his match with the Portuguese Frederico Morais.

The surprises were given by the Australian Caleb Tancred and the South African Matthew McGillivray, who were winners before two of the riders that were emerging as candidates for the victory, the Brazilian Deivid Silva (16th in the CT) and the Australian Jack Robinson (18th of the QS).

The Australian Morgan Cibilic was responsible for eliminating the Brazilian Alex Ribeiro (former CT); while Miguel Pupo won in his match with Frenchman Charly Martin, and Frenchman Nomme Mignot won against Miguel Pupo (Brazil).

The Pantín Soundwave Son closes the event

The Soundwave Son Pantín will serve as the closing of the ABANCA Galicia Classic Surf Pro. The Estrella Galicia stage will become the centre of entertainment with the performances of Mario Azurza (20: 00-23: 00 hours) and Rocío Saiz DJ (Chillers / Monterrosa), which will put the rhythm and music in the facilities of the Pantín beach.

The rest of the festival areas such as the ‘food trucks’ and the Estrella Galicia stands will be available for attendees to taste different types of food and drinks.

ABANCA Galicia Classic Surf Pro counts with the collaboration of Xunta de Galicia (Turismo de Galicia, Xacobeo 2021, Deporte Galego, Galicia Calidade, Secretaria Xeral de Igualdade, Conselleria de Medioambiente), Diputacion de A Coruña, Ayuntamiento de Ferrol, Ayuntamiento de Valdoviño, Sociedad Mixta de Turismo de Ferrol, Costa das Ondas y Federación Galega de Surf; así como las firmas ABANCA, ESTRELLA GALICIA, CABREIROA, HOSPITAL QUIRON, INTERMAX, VOLKSWAGEN YAÑEZ, TAGHEUER, JOYERIA JAEL, SIROKO,GADIS, GAM, ITG Y VAZVA.